This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Aisne (Departement, France)

Last modified: 2009-12-12 by ivan sache
Keywords: aisne | picardie |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 02
Region: Picardie
Traditional provinces: Picardy, Île-de-France, Champagne
Bordering departments: Ardennes, Marne, Nord, Oise, Seine-et-Marne, Somme
Bordering country: Belgium (province of Hainaut)

Area: 7,369 km2
Population (2006): 537,061 inhabitants

Préfecture: Laon
Sous-préfectures: Château-Thierry, Saint-Quentin, Soissons, Vervins
Subdivisions: 5 arrondissements, 42 cantons, 816 communes.

The department is named after river Aisne (280 km), tributary of the Oise.
On 1 September 1973, the municipality of Escaufourt, formerly enclaved in the department of Nord, was merged with the municipality of Saint-Souplet (Nord).

Ivan Sache, 11 November 2009