This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Seine-et-Marne (Department, France)

Last modified: 2010-11-12 by ivan sache
Keywords: seine-et-marne | ile-de-france |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 77
Region: Île-de-France
Traditional provinces: Île-de-France, Champagne, Orléanais
Bordering departments: Aisne, Aube, Loiret, Marne, Oise, Yonne, Essonne, Seine-Saint-Denis, Val-de-Marne, Val-d'Oise

Area: 5,915 km2
Population (2006): 1,273,491 inhabitants

Préfecture: Melun
Sous-préfectures: Fontainebleau (suppressed in 1926, recreated in 1988), Meaux, Provins, Torcy (created in 1993, but only effective in 2003)
Subdivisions: 5 arrondissements, 43 cantons, 514 communes.

The department is named after the rivers Seine (776 km) and Marne (525 km).

Ivan Sache, 14 November 2009