This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Nord (Department, France)

Last modified: 2012-10-13 by ivan sache
Keywords: nord | nord-pas de calais |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of the General Council]

Flag of the General Council of Nord - Photo by Ivan Sache, taken in Bavay, 2 May 2007

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 59
Region: Nord-Pas de Calais
Traditional province: Flanders
Bordering departments: Aisne, Pas-de-Calais, Somme

Area: 5,742 km2
Population (2006): 2,565,257 inhabitants

Préfecture: Lille
Sous-préfectures: Avesnes-sur-Helpe, Cambrai, Douai, Dunkirk, Valenciennes
Subdivisions: 6 arrondissements, 79 cantons, 652 communes.

The department is named ("North") after its geographical situation.
On 1 September 1973, the municipality of Escaufourt, formerly enclaved in the department of Nord, was merged with the municipality of Saint-Souplet (Nord).

Ivan Sache, 14 November 2009

Flag of the General Council

The flag of the General Council of Nord is yellow with a blue stripe placed vertically along the hoist and another placed horizontally along the bottom of the flag. The yellow rectangle is charged with the logo of the General Council in blue.

The logo of the General Council of Nord is made of a stylized "N" surmounting "Conseil Général / Département du Nord"; the elements are white on a blue background - while blue on yellow on the flag.

Ivan Sache, 17 October 2009