This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Lot-et-Garonne (Department, France)

Last modified: 2009-12-12 by ivan sache
Keywords: lot-et-garonne | aquitaine |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 47
Region: Aquitaine
Traditional province: Guyenne and Gascony
Bordering departments: Dordogne, Gers, Gironde, Landes, Lot, Tarn-et-Garonne

Area: 5,361 km2
Population (2006): 333,555 inhabitants

Préfecture: Agen
Sous-préfectures: Marmande, Nérac, Villeneuve-sur-Lot
Subdivisions: 4 arrondissements, 40 cantons, 319 communes.

The department is named after rivers Lot (480 km), tributary of the Garonne, and Garonne (650 km).
On 4 November 1808, the cantons of Auvillar, Montaigu-de-Quercy and Valence were transferred from the department of Lot-et-Garonne to the new department of Tarn-et-Garonne.

Ivan Sache, 12 November 2009