This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Dordogne (Department, France)

Last modified: 2009-12-12 by ivan sache
Keywords: dordogne | aquitaine |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 24
Region: Aquitaine
Traditional provinces: Guyenne and Gascony
Bordering departments: Charente, Charente-Maritime, Corrèze, Gironde, Lot, Lot-et-Garonne, Haute-Vienne

Area: 9,060 km2
Population (2006): 404,052 inhabitants

Préfecture: Périgueux
Sous-préfectures: Bergerac, Nontron, Sarlat-la-Canéda
Subdivisions: 4 arrondissements, 50 cantons, 557 communes.

The department is named after river Dordogne (472 km), tributary of the Garonne.

Ivan Sache, 11 November 2009