This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Landes (Department, France)

Last modified: 2012-04-30 by ivan sache
Keywords: landes | aquitaine |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 40
Region: Aquitaine
Traditional province: Guyenne and Gascony
Bordering departments: Gers, Gironde, Lot-et-Garonne, Pyrénées-Atlantiques

Area: 9,243 km2
Population (2007): 357,000 inhabitants

Préfecture: Mont-de-Marsan
Sous-préfecture: Dax
Subdivisions: 2 arrondissements, 30 cantons, 331 communes.

The department is named after the region of Landes (moors). In June 2006, the General Council proposed to change the name of the department to "Landes de Gascogne".
On 5 February 1850, the municipality of Labastide-d'Armagnac was transferred from the department of Gers to the department of Landes. On 1 June 1857, the municipality of Saint-Esprit was transferred from the department of Landes to the department of Pyrénées-Inférieures (today Pyrénées-Atlantiques).

Ivan Sache, 11 November 2009