This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Gers (Department, France)

Last modified: 2013-02-24 by ivan sache
Keywords: gers | midi-pyrenees |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 32
Region: Midi-Pyrénées
Traditional province: Guyenne and Gascony
Bordering departments: Haute-Garonne, Landes, Lot-et-Garonne, Pyrénées-Atlantiques, Hautes-Pyrénées, Tarn-et-Garonne

Area: 6,257 km2
Population (2007): 182,500 inhabitants

Préfecture: Auch
Sous-préfectures: Condom, Mirande
Subdivisions: 3 arrondissements, 31 cantons, 463 communes.

The department is named after river Gers (178 km), tributary of the Garonne.
On 4 November 1808, the canton of Lavit was transferred from the department of Gers to the new department of Tarn-et-Garonne. On 5 February 1850, the municipality of Labastide-d'Armagnac was transferred from the department of Gers to the department of Landes.

Ivan Sache, 11 November 2009