This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Haute-Garonne (Department, France)

Last modified: 2009-12-12 by ivan sache
Keywords: haute-garonne | midi-pyrenees |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 31
Region: Midi-Pyrénées
Traditional provinces: Languedoc, Guyenne and Gascony
Bordering departments: Ariège, Aude, Gers, Hautes-Pyrénées, Tarn, Tarn-et-Garonne
Bordering country: Spain (Autonomous Community of Aragon, Province of Huesca, and Autonomous Community of Catalonia, Province of Lleida)

Area: 6,309 km2
Population (2007): 1,205,000 inhabitants

Préfecture: Toulouse
Sous-préfectures: Murat, Saint-Gaudens
Subdivisions: 3 arrondissements, 53 cantons, 589 communes.

The department is named after river Garonne (650 km), tributary of the Atlantic Ocean.
On 4 November 1808, the cantons of Beaumont, Castelsarrasin, Grisolles, Montech, Saint-Nicolas, Verdun and Villebrumier were transferred from the department of Haute-Garonne to the new department of Tarn-et-Garonne.

Ivan Sache, 15 November 2009