This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Meurthe-et-Moselle (Department, France)

Last modified: 2009-12-12 by ivan sache
Keywords: meurthe-et-moselle | lorraine |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 54
Region: Lorraine
Traditional province: Lorraine
Bordering departments: Meuse, Moselle, Vosges
Bordering countries: Belgium (Province of Luxembourg), Luxembourg

Area: 5,246 km2
Population (2005): 723,000 inhabitants

Préfecture: Nancy
Sous-préfectures: Briey, Lunéville, Toul
Subdivisions: 4 arrondissements, 44 cantons, 594 communes.

The department is named after rivers Meurthe (170 km) and Moselle (550 km), both tributary of the Rhine.
The department was created on 7 September 1871, encompassing the parts of the former departments of Meurthe (arrondissements of Lunéville, Nancy and Toul) and Moselle (arrondissement of Briey) that remained French by the Treaty of Francfort. On 1 January 1997, the municipality of Han-devant-Pierrepont was transferred from Meuse to Meurthe-et-Moselle.

Ivan Sache, 12 November 2009

Former flag of the General Council

[General Council Meurthe-et-Moselle]

Flag of the General Council of Meurthe-et-Moselle - Image by Ivan Sache, 30 September 2009

The flag of the General Council of Meurthe-et-Moselle, as observed by Pascal Vagnat in 1997 in Nancy, is obsolete, since the General Council has adopted a new logo.
The former flag of the General Council of Meurthe-et-Moselle is white with the former logo of the General Council.

The former logo of the General Council of Meurthe-et-Moselle shows, on a white background, a stylized blue ampersand, also recalling the map of the department, placed over a yellow square flanked by "CONSEIL GÉNÉRAL" (top) and "MEURTHE ET MOSELLE" (bottom) in blue letters.

Ivan Sache & Pascal Vagnat, 30 September 2009