This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Meuse (Department, France)

Last modified: 2009-12-12 by ivan sache
Keywords: meuse | lorraine |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of the General Council]

Flag of the General Council of Meuse - Image by Ivan Sache, 2 October 2009

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 55
Region: Lorraine
Traditional provinces: Lorraine, Champagne
Bordering departments: Ardennes, Marne, Haute-Marne, Meurthe-et-Moselle, Vosges
Bordering country: Belgium (Province of Luxembourg)

Area: 6,216 km2
Population (199): 192,198 inhabitants

Préfecture: Bar-le-Duc
Sous-préfectures: Commercy, Verdun
Subdivisions: 3 arrondissements, 31 cantons, 500 communes.

The department is named after the river Meuse (950 km).
On 1 January 1997, the municipality of Han-devant-Pierrepont was transferred from the department of Meuse to the department of Meurthe-et-Moselle.

Ivan Sache, 12 November 2009

Flag of the General Council

As seen on a photo taken by Pascal Vagnat in January 2006 in Bar-le- Duc, the flag of the General Council of Meuse is horizontally divided white-blue-green-white, the three bottom stripes being of equal height. The top stripe is charged with the stylized silhouettes of a church and a river, the blue stripe is charged with "Conseil Général" in white letters, and the green stripe is charged with "de la Meuse" in white letters.

Ivan Sache, 2 October 2009