This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Jura (Department, France)

Last modified: 2013-03-14 by ivan sache
Keywords: jura | franche-comte |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 39
Region: Franche-Comté
Traditional province: Franche-Comté
Bordering departments: Ain, Côte-d'Or, Doubs, Haute-Saône, Saône-et-Loire
Bordering country: Switzerland (Canton of Vaud)

Area: 4,999 km2
Population (2006): 257,399 inhabitants

Préfecture: Lons-le-Saunier
Sous-préfectures: Dôle, Saint-Claude
Subdivisions: 3 arrondissements, 34 cantons, 544 communes.

The department is named after the Jura mountains.
On 1 June 1974, the municipality of Antorpe was transferred from the department of Jura to the department of Doubs and incorporated into the municipality of Saint-Vit.

Ivan Sache, 11 November 2009