This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Saône-et-Loire (Department, France)

Last modified: 2012-04-30 by ivan sache
Keywords: saone-et-loire | bourgogne |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 71
Region: Bourgogne
Traditional provinces: Bourgogne, Nivernais
Bordering departments: Ain, Allier, Côte-d'Or, Jura, Loire, Nièvre, Rhône

Area: 8,575 km2
Population (1999): 544,893 inhabitants

Préfecture: Mâcon
Sous-préfectures: Autun, Chalon-sur-Saône, Charolles, Louhans
Subdivisions: 5 arrondissements, 57 cantons, 573 communes.

The department is named after rivers Saône (480 km), tributary of the Rhône, and Loire (1,020 km).
A proposal to rename the department "Bourgogne-du-Sud", made by the General Council in 2003, was rejected.

Ivan Sache, 14 November 2009