This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Doubs (Department, France)

Last modified: 2012-04-09 by ivan sache
Keywords: doubs | franche-comte |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of Doubse]         [Flag of the General Council]

Flags of the department (left) and of the General Council of Doubs (right) - Images by Ivan Sache, 26 September 2009

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 25
Region: Franche-Comté
Traditional provinces: Franche-Comté
Bordering departments: Jura, Haute-Saône, Territoire de Belfort
Bordering country: Switzerland (Cantons of Jura, Neuchâtel, and Vaud)

Area: 5,234 km2
Population (2006): 516,157 inhabitants

Préfecture: Besançon
Sous-préfectures: Montbéliard, Pontarlier
Subdivisions: 3 arrondissements, 35 cantons, 594 communes.

The department is named after river Doubs(430 km), tributary of the Saône.
On 1 June 1974, the municipality of Antorpe was transferred from the department of Jura to the department of Doubs and incorporated into the municipality of Saint-Vit.

Ivan Sache, 11 November 2009

Flags hoisted by the General Council

As observed by Pascal Vagnat in June 2005 in Besançon, the General Council of Doubs flies two flags:
- the flag of the department of Doubs, made of the "rake" from the logo of the General Council, flanked on its right by the writing "Le Doubs" in blue letters;
- the flag of the General Council of Doubs, similar but with the writing "Le Doubs / CONSEIL GENERAL" in blue letters.

On the logo of the General Council, the "rake" is made of five dark blue triangles interlaced with four and two half light blue triangles placed along the hoist; there are five pink rectangles placed in the middle of the base of each dark blue triangle, on the border with the white field of the logo.

Ivan Sache, 26 September 2009