This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Gard (Department, France)

Last modified: 2012-09-03 by ivan sache
Keywords: gard | languedoc-roussillon |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 30
Region: Languedoc-Roussillon
Traditional provinces: Languedoc
Bordering departments: Ardèche, Aveyron, Bouches-du-Rhône, Hérault, Lozère, Vaucluse

Area: 5,853 km2
Population (2009): 700,000 inhabitants

Préfecture: Nîmes
Sous-préfectures: Alès, Le Vigan
Subdivisions: 3 arrondissements, 46 cantons, 353 communes.

The department is named after river Gard - also called Gardon - (71 km), tributary of the Rhône.

Ivan Sache, 11 November 2009