This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Hérault (Department, France)

Last modified: 2009-12-12 by ivan sache
Keywords: herault | languedoc-roussillon | letter: h (blue) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of the General Council of Hérault]

Flag of the General Council of Hérault - Image by Ivan Sache, 27 September 2009

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 34
Region: Languedoc-Roussillon
Traditional provinces: Languedoc
Bordering departments: Aude, Aveyron, Gard, Tarn

Area: 6,101 km2
Population (2008): 1,015,027 inhabitants

Préfecture: Montpellier
Sous-préfectures: Lodève, Béziers
Subdivisions: 3 arrondissements, 49 cantons, 343 communes.

The department is named after river Hérault (160 km), tributary of the Mediterranean Sea.

Ivan Sache, 11 November 2009

Flag of the General Council

The flag of the General Council of Hérault, as hoisted in front of the building of the General Council at Montpellier, is white with the logo of the General Council.

The logo of the General Council of Hérault is a white rectangle framed in blue with a thick letter "H" tilted to the upper right corner of the rectangle, blue with the base light blue with two white waves (symbolizing for sure the Mediterranean Sea) and an orange sun concealing the upper left part of the "H". "Département / Hérault / Conseil Général" is written in blue letters under the "H", "Conseil Général" lying under the lower border of the rectangle.

Ivan Sache, 27 September 2009

Montpellier District

[Montpellier District]

Flag of Montpellier District - Image by M.V. Blanes, 1 May 2000

The Intermunicipal Authority of Montpellier District, including Montpellier and 15 surrounding municipalities, was founded in 1965 and replaced on 1 January 2001 by Montpellier Agglomération.
The flag of Montpellier District is white with the authority's logo in the middle.

M.V. Blanes, & Ivan Sache, 9 November 2009