This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Aveyron (Department, France)

Last modified: 2012-10-13 by ivan sache
Keywords: aveyron | midi-pyrenees | letter: a (yellow) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 12
Region: Midi-Pyrénées
Traditional provinces: Guyenne-et-Gascogne
Bordering departments: Cantal, Gard, Hérault, Lot, Lozère, Tarn, Tarn-et-Garonne

Area: 8,736 km2
Population (2006): 273,377 inhabitants

Préfecture: Rodez
Sous-préfectures: Millau, Villefranche-de-Rouergue
Subdivisions: 3 arrondissements, 46 cantons, 304 communes.

The department is named after river Aveyron (250 km), tributary of the Tarn.
On 4 November 1808, the canton of Saint-Antonin-Noble-Val was transferred from the department of Aveyron to the new department of Tarn-et-Garonne.

Ivan Sache, 11 November 2009

Former flag of the General Council

[Former flag of the General Council]

Former flag of the General Council of Aveyron - Image by Philippe-Pierre Darras & Ivan Sache, 25 September 2009

The former flag of the General Council of Aveyron is green with the Council's logo in the middle. This flag is now obsolete since the General Council has a new logo.
The former logo of the General Council of Aveyron is a white rectangle with a green, smaller rectangle, charged with an orange-yellow letter "A" and the white writing "AVEYRON", surmounting the white writing "CONSEIL GENERAL" and a thin horizontal green stripe.

Ivan Sache, 25 September 2009