This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Alpes-de-Haute-Provence (Department, France)

Last modified: 2012-04-12 by ivan sache
Keywords: alpes-de-haute-provence | provence-alpes-cote d'azur |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 04
Region: Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur
Traditional province: Provence
Bordering departments: Hautes-Alpes, Alpes-Maritimes, Drôme, Var, Vaucluse
Bordering country: Italy (Region Piedmont)

Area: 6,925 km2
Population (2009): 154,101 inhabitants

Préfecture: Digne-les-Bains
Sous-préfectures: Barcelonnette, Castellane, Forcalquier
Subdivisions: 4 arrondissements, 30 cantons, 200 communes.

The department is named after the Alps mountains and the traditional province of Provence. Formerly known as Basses-Alpes (Lower Alpes), the department was renamed Alpes-de-Haute-Provence (Alps of Upper-Provence) on 13 April 1970.
The canton of Sault was detached from the department to be incorporated into the newly formed department of Vaucluse in 1793; the canton of Barcillonnette was transferred to the department of Hautes-Alpes in 1811.

Ivan Sache, 11 November 2009