This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Drôme (Department, France)

Last modified: 2012-04-27 by ivan sache
Keywords: drome | rhone-alpes |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 26
Region: Rhône-Alpes
Traditional provinces: Dauphiné, Comtat Venaissin
Bordering departments: Alpes-de-Haute-Provence, Hautes-Alpes, Ardèche, Isère, Vaucluse

Area: 6,530 km2 (excluding the enclave of Valréas, part of the department of Vaucluse)
Population (2006): 468,608 inhabitants

Préfecture: Valence
Sous-préfectures: Die, Nyons
Subdivisions: 3 arrondissements, 36 cantons, 369 communes.

The department is named after river Drôme (110 km), tributary of the Rhône.

Ivan Sache, 11 November 2009

Former flag of the General Council

[Former flag of the General Council]         [Former flag of the General Council]

Former flag of the General Council, two variants - Images by Ivan Sache, 27 September 2009

The former flag of the General Council of Drôme is diagonally divided white-yellow by the descending diagonal, with a vertical blue stripe placed along the hoist. This flag is now obsolete since the General Council has adopted a new logo in 2006.
The yellow triangle represents the simplified map of the departement. The blue line symbolizes the Rhône.

The flag was used in front of the seat of the Regional Council of Rhône-Alpes at Charbonnières-les-Bains, near Lyon, as shown on a photo taken by Pascal Vagnat on 12 February 2006.
A similar flag displayed in Bourg-de-Péage in 1999 had at hoist a white band about as large as the blue one.

Ivan Sache & Olivier Touzeau, 27 September 2009