This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Savoie (Department, France)

Last modified: 2010-11-12 by ivan sache
Keywords: savoie | rhone-alpes |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 73
Region: Rhône-Alpes
Traditional province: Savoy (former Intendance of Chambéry; Provinces of Savoie propre, Tarentaise and Maurienne)
Bordering departments: Ain, Hautes-Alpes, Isère, Haute-Savoie
Bordering country: Italy (Regions Aosta Valley and Piedmont)

Area: 6,028 km2
Population (2006): 403,500 inhabitants

Préfecture: Chambéry
Sous-préfectures: Albertville, Saint-Jean-de-Maurienne
Subdivisions: 3 arrondissements, 37 cantons, 305 communes.

The department is named after the former Duchy of Savoy, incorporated to France in 1860.

Ivan Sache, 14 November 2009