This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Isère (Department, France)

Last modified: 2012-04-11 by ivan sache
Keywords: isere | rhone-alpes |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 38
Region: Rhône-Alpes
Traditional province: Dauphiné
Bordering departments: Ain, Hautes-Alpes, Drôme, Rhône, Savoie

Area: 7,431 km2
Population (2007): 1,180,000 inhabitants

Préfecture: Grenoble
Sous-préfectures: La Tour-du-Pin, Vienne
Subdivisions: 3 arrondissements, 58 cantons, 533 communes.

The department is named after river Isère (290 km), tributary of the Rhône.
The urbanization of the surroundings of Lyon caused the transfer of several municipalities from the department of Isère to the department of Rhône, causing a territorial loss of 421 km2 for Isère.
Decree of 2 March 1852 transferred the municipalities of Bron, Vaulx-en-Velin, Vénissieux (from which the municipality of Saint-Fons seceded in 1888) and Villeurbanne.
Law of 29 December 1967, published in the French official gazette on 30 December 1967, with effect on 31 December 1967, transferred the municipalities of Chaponnay, Chassieu, Communay, Corbas, Décines-Charpieu, Feyzin, Genas, Jonage, Jons, Marennes, Meyzieu, Mions, Pusignan, Saint-Bonnet-de-Mure, Saint-Laurent-de-Mure, Saint-Pierre-de-Chandieu, Saint-Priest, Saint-Symphorien-d'Ozon, Sérézin-du-Rhône, Simandres, Solaize, Ternay and Toussieu.
Decree of 5 March 1971, published in the French official gazette on 14 March 1971, with effect on 1 April 1971, transferred the municipality Colombier-Saugnieu.

Ivan Sache, 11 November 2009