This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Transvaal (Province of South Africa)

(1910 - 1994)

Last modified: 2022-10-22 by bruce berry
Keywords: south africa | transvaal |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Transvaal - introduction

The Transvaal (so called because it was situated beyond the Vaal river, as seen from the Cape of Good Hope) covered the northern most part of South Africa, bordering on Swaziland, Zimbabwe and Botswana and included the bantustans of Gazankulu, Venda, Lebowa, KwaNdebele (in its central northern part), KaNgwane (to the north of the Swazi border) and the eastern enclaves of Bophuthatswana.  It has been reorganized into the new provinces of Limpopo Province, Gauteng, Mpumalanga and North-West (eastern half) in 1994.

When a province of South Africa between 1910 and 1994, Transvaal had no official provincial flag but the flag of the former Boer republic, of the Zuid-Afrikaansche Republiek  (on which the boundaries of the province were based) was often used unofficially.
Antonio Martins, 30 May 1999

The Zuid-Afrikaansche Republiek (the independent Boer republic) ceased to exist following the signing of the Treaty of Vereeniging on 31 May 1902, which signaled the end of the Anglo-Boer War.  The British authorities now controlled the whole of what was to become South Africa and in place of the ZAR the Transvaal Colony was created.

The Union of South Africa was created on 31 May 1910 comprising the British colonies of the Cape of Good Hope, Natal, Orange River Colony and Transvaal. Each colony became a province of South Africa.  The former Arms of the ZAR, incorporating the vierkleur flag of the former republic, became the provincial Arms of the Transvaal.  None of the provinces of the Union had an official flag and only the South African national flag was used.  The wagon in the fourth quarter of the Arms of the Union (later Republic) of South Africa represented the Transvaal.
Bruce Berry, 31 May 1999