This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Pretoria (South Africa)

Gauteng province

Last modified: 2022-10-22 by bruce berry
Keywords: south africa | pretoria | university |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Pretoria (South Africa)] image by Bruce Berry and Dov Gutterman, 28 Sept 1998     See also:

Pretoria city flag (to 2000)

Pretoria is the administrative capital of South Africa.  The legislative capital is Cape Town and the judicial capital is Bloemfontein.

The municipal flag of Pretoria was a simple yellow over red horizontal bi-colour. It was the same as the flags of Prague (Praha), capital of the Czech Republic, and Warsaw (Warszawa), capital of Poland. Red and yellow are the official colours of the city, taken from the municipal arms.  There is also an example of a city flag featuring the municipal arms in the canton.  However, the unembellished flag was official.

scan by Bruce Berry, 12 Sept 2006

The municipal arms of Pretoria were officially taken into use on 24 October 1989, although a previous version has been in use for decades.  When Pretoria acquired municipal status in 1903, plans were made to adopt a crest for the town.  The most suitable escutcheon design was submitted to the College of Arms in London and was formally awarded on 07 February 1907.  The supporters were granted by the Garter Principal of Arms under separate Letters Patent dated 11 February 1907.  The two versions should have been combined later but were not.  It was not until 1989 that the arms were corrected to include the missing helmet and mantling and were adapted slightly to conform to a more modern heraldic style.  The official blazon is described as:

ARMS: Gules (red), on a mimosa tree eradicated proper, within an orle of eight bees volant, Or (gold), an inescutcheon Or (smaller shield, gold) and thereon a Roman Praetor seated, proper

CREST: A triple-towered castle Or


SUPPORTERS: Dexter (right) an eland and sinister (left) a kudu, both proper

                 MOTTO: PRAESTANTIA PRAEVALEAT PRAETORIA (May Pretoria be pre-eminent in excellence).
Bruce Berry, 05 Sept 1997

South Africa has changed the name of its capital city to Tshwane
Zachary Harden, 08 Mar 2005   

As Pretoria is now part of the Tshwane Metropolitan Municipality, its municipal symbols are no longer used.
Bruce Berry, 12 Sept 2006