This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Ekurhuleni Metropolitan Municipality (South Africa)

Gauteng Province

Last modified: 2022-10-22 by bruce berry
Keywords: ekhuruleni |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

image by Martin Grieve, 22 July 2005

See also:

Ekurhuleni Metropolitan Municipality (2002 - )

The Ekurhuleni Metropolitan Municipality is located on the east of the Witwatersrand conurbation (known colloquially as the East Rand) and comprises the former municipal areas of Alberton, Benoni, Boksburg, Brakpan, Daveyton, Edenvale, Germiston, Modderfontein, Nigel and parts of Kempton Park and Tembisa. This metropolitan municipality was created following the re-organisation of South African local government in December 2000. Consequently the flags of the municipalities which make up Ekurhuleni are longer flown. The new municipal symbols for Ekurhuleni were adopted in February 2002.

The new Ekurhuleni Metropolitan Council flag has the metropolitan logo in the centre of a white field making it a modern armigerous-type flag. The logo takes the form of a stylised human figure and is in the South African national colours. The ellipse that forms the head of the figure is black, which is said to represent the importance of coal to the area, while the yellow irregular triangle between the head and the body of the figure represents the gold mining industry. The large irregular blue shape depicts the importance of aviation and water sectors which an important part of the local economy. The central green element represents the environment and agriculture while the red serves both to balance the logo and link it to the national flag.
Bruce Berry, 30 Aug 2006

Ekurhuleni Mayoral flag

image by Martin Grieve, 22 July 2005

In addition to the metropolitan logo, a new municipal coat of arms has also been adopted. These arms appear in the centre of the mayoral flag. The guiding theme of the arms relates to the name Ekurhuleni - meaning a place of peace. A blue firmament holds a graphic symbol of peace. The white dove is a symbol of the spirit of peace and the olive branch symbolises the growth of that peace.

At the bottom of the shield is the depiction of the historical strength of the region, gold and related minerals while in top left is the symbol for nuclear fusion which represents scientific development and progress - the social and economic ambitions of the area.

The top right of the shield features a combination of a traditional and modern musical instrument - a kudu horn and trumpet - that symbolises the link to the spiritual realm through the practice of the Arts. These three aspects in the shield form a holistic depiction of human needs: to grow, to work and to learn.

Flanking the crest are supporters in the form of two Pedi women clad in traditional dress. These represent the nurturing and guidance within the human family. The oak leaves at the base represent the promise of growth and between the leaves is the symbol for water - the key resource of life. The motto, Prosper in Peace, expresses the essential mission and hope of the Ekurhuleni region.

scan by Bruce Berry, 30 Aug 2006

Neither the metro flag, the new municipal arms nor the mayoral flag have been registered with the South African Bureau of Heraldry.
Bruce Berry, 30 Aug 2006