This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Provinces of South Africa

Last modified: 2022-10-22 by bruce berry
Keywords: south africa | provinces |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

    See also:

New Provinces (post 1994 dispensation)

Since 1994-04-27, South Africa has 9 provinces : Up to September 1995 none of the nine new South African provinces had adopted their own flags although one or two have proposals in this regard. There is currently a debate in this country as to whether the provinces should have their own flags or not with the ANC holding the view that the provinces should not have individual flags.
Bruce Berry, September 1995

Mpumalanga is the only province to have adopted a new flag.  With the adoption of a provincial coat of arms by KwaZulu-Natal in September 2004, all the new provinces now have formally adopted new Arms.
Bruce Berry, 31 January 2005