This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Florida Flags Prior to 1845 (U.S.)

Last modified: 2020-01-04 by rick wyatt
Keywords: florida | macgregor | patriots | muskogee | west florida |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Gregor MacGregor Flag (1817)

[Gregor MacGregor Flag (1817)] image by Jorge Candeias, 20 February 2005

An expedition into the Spanish territory led by Gregor MacGregor, a veteran of South American revolutions. The group occupied Amelia Island on June 20, 1817. Four months later they were forced to leave.
Dov Gutterman, 12 October 1998

After the McGregor effort failed a surviving band of his men threw in their lot with Louis Aury, a privateer under commission to the revolutionary Republic of Mexico, and the then-current flag of Mexico flew over Amelia Island for awhile.
Ned Smith, 7 June 2003

Patriots Flag (1812)

[Patriots Flag (1812)] image by Dov Gutterman, 12 October 1998

On March 13, 1812 a group of 70 Georgians and nine Floridians crossed St. Marys River to Amelia island and established the "Territory of East Florida". President Madison refused to acknowledge their claim and the movement failed. The motto on the flag is :"Salus populi lex suprema" (the safety of the people , the supreme law).
Dov Gutterman, 12 October 1998

Republic of West Florida (1810)

[Flag of West Florida] image by Rick Wyatt, 6 September 1998

See West Florida Republic

State of Muskogee Flag (1799-1803)

[State of Muskogee Flag (1799-1803)] image by Dov Gutterman, 12 October 1998

Designed by William Augustus Bowels after a congress of Creeks and Seminoles elected him as director general of the State of Muskogee. Bowels was captured by the Spanish in 1803 and died shortly later in Havana Prison.
Dov Gutterman, 12 October 1998

See also: Muskogee 19th Century reconstruction