This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

County of Västmanland (Sweden)

Västmanlands län

Last modified: 2021-08-25 by christopher oehler
Keywords: mountain | vastmanland | uppland | upland | sodermanland |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[flag of Västmanlands county]
illustration by Mello Luchtenberg

See also:


About the flag

A banner of the arms, arms granted on 30 June 1943. The arms are the same as for the province of Västmanland, though the county consists of only about half the province and also of parts of Upland and Södermanland. The use of these provincial arms for the county have old tradition, however.
Elias Granqvist, 3 October 2000


Official Blazon in Swedish

I fält av silver ett blått, uppskjutande treberg med tre röda lågor.

Blazon in English

Argent, in base triple Mount Azure issuant from each Flames Gules.
English blazon by Željko Heimer, 4 October 2000

Historical Information

See also:

Municipalities (Kommuner)

The following communes are in this county (lan). The codes following the name are assigned by Sweden for statistical purposes.

  • Arboga (1984)
  • Fagersta (1982)
  • Hallstahammar (1961)
  • Heby (1917)
  • Kungsör (1960)
  • Köping (1983)
  • Norberg (1962)
  • Sala (1981)
  • Skinnskatteberg (1904)
  • Surahammar (1907)
  • Västerås (1980)