This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Setúbal Municipality (Portugal)

Concelho de Setúbal, Distrito de Setúbal

Last modified: 2014-10-18 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: setubal | coat of arms: castle (white) | ships: 2 | sail ship: 1 mast | fish: 3 | crosses: 2 | cross: st. james | scallop |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Setúbal municipality
image by Sérgio Horta, 11 Jun 2007
See also: External links:

About the flag

It is a fairly typical portuguese municipal flag, with the coat of arms centered on purple and white gyronny (city rank) background. Flag and arms adopted and published in the official journal Diário do Governo : II Série in 1936.03.05.
António Martins, 10 Jun 2007


Coat of arms

Setúbal municipality
image by Sérgio Horta, 10 Jun 2007

The arms are Azure issuant from a base wavy of five fesses Argent and Vert charged with three fish hauriant Argent and behind two ships affrontty Sable dressed Argent a castle Argent masoned Sable litten and open Purpure and on a chief Or a scallop Purpure between two St. James’s sword-crosses of the Same. Mural crown argent with five visible towers (city rank) and white scroll reading in black upper case letters "Cidade de Setúbal".
António Martins, 10 Jun 2007


Version without the coat of arms

Setúbal plain flag
image by António Martins, 2010

Plain (monocolored) portuguese subnational flags are not allowed to have armless variations: plain flags always carry the coat of arms.
Jorge Candeias, 18 Jul 1999


Presentation of Setúbal

Setúbal is one of the 40 “ancient” (pre-1973) portuguese cities. Setúbal municipality had 113 934 inhabitants in 2001 and consists of 8 communes covering 170,57 km². It is part of Setúbal District, traditional province Estremadura, 1999 ref. adm. region Lisboa e Setúbal, current C.C.R. / NUTS II Lisboa (pre-2002 C.C.R. / NUTS II Lisboa e Vale-do-Tejo), and NUTS III Península de Setúbal.
António Martins, 10 Jun 2007

back to Municipalities of Portugal click here