This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Nisa Municipality (Portugal)

Concelho de Nisa, Distrito de Portalegre

Last modified: 2016-02-27 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: nisa | castle(yellow) | cross(st. benedict) | crescent | inscutcheon | portugal ancient |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Nisa municipality#1]
2:3 image by António Martins-Tuválkin, 31 July 1999
[Nisa municipality#2]
2:3 image by Klaus-Michael Schneider, 7 Aug 2014

See also: External links:

About the Flag

It is a fairly typical Portuguese municipal flag, with the coat of arms centred on a plain yellow field.
António Martins-Tuválkin, 31 July 1999

Coat of arms

The coat of arms is gules, a castle or masoned sable, door and windows void, under a roman cross patty argent voided gules, this flanked by two 6-point stars under which, sinister, an ineschuteon charged with Portugal ancient, dexter a crescent argent. Mural crown argent with four visible towers (town rank) and white scroll reading in black upper case letters "NOTÁVEL VILA DE NISA". (see left image above)
The unusual epithet "notável" ("noteworthy") was attributed for successful borderline defence, if I recall correctly.
António Martins-Tuválkin, 31 July 1999

The cross is that of the Knights of São Bento, the oldest military order, created in the beginning of the 13th century by Afonso II. (From: Les Guides Bleus — Portugal, Madàre, Açores, 1978) Jarig Bakker, 1 Aug 1999

Variant with new coat of arms

[Nisa municipality CoA] image by Sérgio Horta, 31 July 1999

Shield: field Purpure, Christ Knights' cross Gules voided Argent. (see right image above)
Klaus-Michael Schneider, 7 Aug 2014

Flag ans arms were approved on 4 March 1988.
António Martins-Tuválkin, 31 July 1999

Presentation of Nisa

Nisa municipality had 9460 inhabitants in 1990, and it is divided in seven communes, covering 574 km². It belongs to the Portalegre District and to the old province of Alto Alentejo.
António Martins-Tuválkin, 31 July 1999

back to Municipalities of Portugal click here