This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Abrantes Municipality (Portugal)

Concelho de Abrantes, Distrito de Santarém

Last modified: 2015-10-25 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: abrantes | star(8-point) | ravens(4) | fleur-de-lis(yellow;4) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Abrantes municipality] 2:3 image by Jorge Candeias, 8 July 1999
See also: External links:

About the Flag

The flag is a gyronny in dark blue and dark yellow, with the municipality’s arms at the centre. These consist of a silver mural crown with five towers at the top, a blue shield in the middle and a white scroll below with the name of the city in black. In the shield there is an 8-pointed white star, four yellow fleurs-de-lis from the Napoleonic invasions - at some time, Abrantes was the headquarter of french troops - and 4 ravens proper.
Jorge Candeias, 25 Aug 1997

Version without Coat of Arms

[Abrantes municipality plain] 2:3 image by António Martins-Tuválkin, Apr 2010

The flag is gyronny of yellow (gold) and (dark) blue.
Jorge Candeias, 8 July 1999

Presentation of

This is alfabetically the first municipality in Portugal. Abrantes is a city, which belongs to the district of Santarém and ancient province of Ribatejo. It is located on the right bank of the Tejo river, very close to the geographic centre of Portugal. Main economic resources (as far as I know) are agriculture and transforming industry.
Jorge Candeias, 25 Aug 1997

back to Municipalities of Portugal click here