This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Tourism Regions in Portugal

Last modified: 2014-06-29 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: tourism |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:


Portuguese tourism regions are quite unrelated to other geographic divisions, and there are even two different kinds of them: the central government “Tourism Promotion Areas” (Áreas Turístico-Promocionais) and the local municipal associations “Tourism Regions” (Regiões de Turismo / Comissões Regionais de Turismo). Of these two concorrent maps, only Algarve, Madeira and Azores coincide — which is quite annoying for the average tourist: While consulates and travel agencies abroad will probably display brochures (usually published by ICEP, the government authority for “image” promotion abroad) refering to the Tourism Promotion Areas, locally municipal tourism authorities use brochures and other material based on the Tourism Regions (the borders of these two divisions overlap and do not match in most cases).

Those Tourism Promotion Areas (as far as I know, flagless) are:

  • Costa Verde (Green Coast)
  • Montanhas (Mountains)
  • Costa de Prata (Silver Coast)
  • Costa de Lisboa (Lisbon)
  • Planícies (Plains)
  • Algarve
  • Madeira
  • Azores
As far as I know, only some of the Tourism Regions has and use flags, mostely based on their logos. However I dont have yet a complete listing of them. Moreover some municipalities not included in any Tourism Region (they run their own independent municipal tourism offices). Anyway, those Tourism Regions I’m informed about are: António Martins, 03 Jul 1998

Anything below this line was not added by the editor of this page.