This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Nordland (Norway)

Last modified: 2021-08-25 by christopher oehler
Keywords: nordland | ship | jan mayen |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Flag of Nordland image by Tomislav Šipek, 18 February 2017

See also:

Description of the flag

Adopted on 15 January 1965.

Proportions are 1:1.
Mark Sensen, 18 November 1995

Or, a boat with mast Sable. A natural symbol of coastal area is a boat. The shape of it is slightly changed from Vikings' times until recently.
Željko Heimer, 19 November 1995

The ship should sail towards the hoist as in the image above.
Jan Oskar Engene, 19 November 1995

Older flag

Doing some back reading I was browsing a book on Norwegian local symbols [c2j87]] when I noticed a flag that I somehow missed before.

The flag of Nordlands amt (predecessor to the Nordland fylkescommune) of 1883 is shown on p. 192. It is a white flag with red border on three outer edges, in the middle top is a fish below a fishing hook and an oar in saltire with a fishing net over those and inscription along the top "NORDLANDS AMT." and above the net "15 MAI 1883".

The flag was apparently made when the Amt (County) bought a fishing company in Lofoten and was used as company flag. The flag is nowadays still in good condition as it is said that it is being used occasionally. The red border was inspired, it is said, by the flag of Bergen.
Željko Heimer, 5 August 2004

County Council

Flag of Nordland County Council image by Tomislav Šipek, 24 February 2017

The flag of Nordland county council can be seen at:
Tomislav Šipek, 24 February 2017

Jan Mayen

Until 1994 Jan Mayen and Svalbard were governed by the Sysselmann (Governor) of Svalbard. From August 1994 the administration of Jan Mayen was taken over by the Fylkesmann (County Governor) of Nordland.
Jan Oskar Engene


The following communes are listed in this county (fylke). The codes following the names are assigned by Norway for statistical and administrative purposes.

The following are former municipalities of this county:

  • Andenes (1873)
  • Ankenes (1855)
  • Bodin (1843)
  • Borge (1862)
  • Brønnøy (1813)
  • Brønnøysund (1801)
  • Dverberg (1872)
  • Elsfjord (1829)
  • Gimsøy (1864)
  • Hol (1861)
  • Kjerringøy (1844)
  • Korgen (1830)
  • Langenes (1869)
  • Leiranger (1847)
  • Mo (1803)
  • Mosjøen (1802)
  • Nordfold (1846)
  • Nordvik (1819)
  • Sandnessjøen (1821)
  • Sømna (1812)
  • Skjerstad (1842)
  • Sør-Rana (1831)
  • Svolvær (1806)
  • Tjøtta (1817)
  • Valberg (1863)
  • Velfjord (1813)