This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Western State, Nigeria (1967 - 1970)

Historical flag

Last modified: 2022-10-22 by bruce berry
Keywords: western state | nigeria | elephant: 2 | tree | lion |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Western State] image by Jens Pattke, 12 July 2006

See also:

Western State (1967-1970)

The Western State of Nigeria was formed in 1967 when the Western Region was subdivided into the states of Lagos and Western State. Its capital was Ibadan, which was the capital of the old region.  In 1976 the state was subdivided into the three new states of  Ogun, Ondo and Oyo.

Prior to 1970, all of the Nigerian states had their own coats of arms and flags. The state flag was modeled on the Nigerian national flag but with the state coat of arms in the centre of the white stripe.  These state flags were adopted in 1967 and abolished in 1970. Since 1970 only the Nigerian national coat of arms and national flag may be used as symbol of a state.   Source: Enzyklopädie der staatlichen Wappen und Flaggen (Encyclopaedia of  State Coat of Arms and State Flags), Volume 5.
Jens Pattke, 09 July 2006