This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Northern Region, Nigeria (1960 - 1967)

Historical flag

Last modified: 2022-10-22 by bruce berry
Keywords: nortern region | nigeria | camel | horse | book | cross |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Northern Region] image by Jens Pattke, 07 July 2006

See also:

Northern Region (1960-1967)

At independence Nigeria was divided into three regions Northern, Eastern, Western and the Lagos Federal District. Its capital was at Kaduna. In 1962 it acquired the territory of the British Northern Cameroons, which had voted to become part of Nigeria. In 1967 the region was split into the following states - Benue-Plateau State, Kano State, Kwara State, North Central State, North Eastern State and North Western State.

These regions each had their own flags and own coats of arms. The flags were used until 1967.   Source: Enzyklopädie der staatlichen Wappen und Flaggen (Encyclopaedia of  State Coat of Arms and State Flags), Volume 4.
Jens Pattke,
07 July 2006