This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Mid Western State, Nigeria (1967 - 1970)

Historical flag

Last modified: 2022-10-22 by bruce berry
Keywords: mid western state | nigeria | lion | horse | spear |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Mid Western State] image by Jens Pattke, 12 July 2006

See also:

Mid Western State (1967-1970)

The Mid-Western Region was a division of Nigeria from 1963 to 1991.  It was renamed Bendel state in 1976.  This was subdivided into the Delta and Edo states in 1991

It was formed in June 1963 from the Benin and Delta provinces of the Western Region, and its capital was Benin City. It was designated as a province in 1966. In 1967 when the other provinces were split up into several states, it remained territorially intact and become a state.

During the Nigerian Civil War, the Biafran forces invaded the new Mid-Western state, en route to Lagos, in an attempt to force a quick end to the war. While under Biafran occupation, the state was declared as the "Republic of Benin" as Nigerian forces were about to retake the region. The republic collapsed a day after the declaration when Nigerian troops overtook Benin City.

Prior to 1970, all of the Nigerian states had their own coats of arms and own flags. The state flags were modeled on the Nigerian national flag but with the state coat of arms in the centre of the white stripe.  These state flags were adopted in 1967 and abolished in 1970. Since 1970 only the Nigerian national coat of arms and national flag may be used as symbol of a state.
Enzyklopädie der staatlichen Wappen und Flaggen (Encyclopaedia of State Coat of Arms and State Flags), Volume 7.
Jens Pattke, 09 July 2006