This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Eastern Region, Nigeria (1960 - 1967)

Historical flag

Last modified: 2022-10-22 by bruce berry
Keywords: eastern region | nigeria | leopard | man: proper | sun rise | eagle |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

image by Jens Pattke, 07 July 2006

See also:

Eastern Region (1960-1967)

Upon independence Nigeria was divided into three regions Northern, Eastern, Western and the federal district Lagos. These regions had own flags and own coats of arms. The flags were used until 1967 when the  region was officially divided into three new states, namely East-Central State, Rivers State and South-Eastern State. The region was part of Biafra, which was in rebellion between 1967 and 1970. The coat of arms of the Eastern Region was also the state coat of arms of the Republic of Biafra.

The state flag was based on the Nigerian national flag, but with the state arms in the centre of the white stripe.
Source: Enzyklopädie der staatlichen Wappen und Flaggen (Encyclopaedia of  State Coat of Arms and State Flags), Volume 4.
Jens Pattke, 07 July 2006