This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

East Central State, Nigeria (1967 - 1970)

Historical flag

Last modified: 2022-10-22 by bruce berry
Keywords: eastern central state | nigeria | elephant: 2 | tree | eagle |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[East Central State] image by Jens Pattke, 09 July 2006

See also:

East Central State (1967-1970)

East Central State was a former administrative division of Nigeria. It was created on 27 May 1967 from parts of the Eastern Region and existed until 03 February 1976 when it was divided into the separate states of Anambra and Imo. The area now comprises five states Anambra, Imo, Enugu, Ebonyi and Abia. The city of Enugu was the capital of East Central State.

Prior to 1970, all of the Nigerian states had their own coats of arms and own flags.  The state flags were modeled on the Nigerian national flag but with the state coat of arms in the centre of the white stripe.  These state flags were adopted in 1967 and abolished in 1970. Since 1970 only the Nigerian national coat of arms and national flag may be used as symbol of a state.
Enzyklopädie der staatlichen Wappen und Flaggen (Encyclopaedia of  State Coat of Arms and State Flags), Volume 6.
Jens Pattke, 09 July 2006