This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Ireland: county colours of Munster


Last modified: 2016-06-29 by rob raeside
Keywords: ireland | munster | limerick | cork | waterford | kerry | clare | tipperary | crowns: 3 (yellow) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Munster] image by Mario Fabretto

See also:

County colours in Munster

The flags in popular use are based on the colours of the county teams in Gaelic football and hurling - the most popular spectator sports. As these flags are entirely unofficial, the designs vary: one sees the colours arranged as horizontal stripes, quarters, lozenges, etc., but vertical stripes are the most common. These flags have outgrown their sporting origins and are now widely used on festive occasions, flown alongside the European Union, national and provincial flags at shopping centres, hotels, etc.

ClareAn Clár yellow and blue
CorkCorcaigh red and white (the 'blood and bandages')
KerryCiarraí green and gold
LimerickLuimneach green and white
TipperaryTiobraid Árann blue and yellow
WaterfordPort Láirge blue and white

Vincent Morley, 4 December 1996