This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Seine-Saint-Denis (Department, France)

Last modified: 2021-02-02 by ivan sache
Keywords: seine-saint-denis |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 93
Region: Île-de-France
Traditional province: Île-de-France
Bordering departments: Paris, Seine-et-Marne, Hauts-de-Seine, Val-d'Oise

Area: 236 km2
Population (2017): 1,623,111 inhabitants

Préfecture: Bobigny
Sous-préfecture: Le Raincy
Subdivisions: 3 arrondissements, 21 cantons, 40 municipalities.

The department is named after river Seine and the town of Saint-Denis.
The Law of 10 July 1964 on the reorganization of the region of Paris, with effect on 1 January 1968, suppressed the departments of Seine and Seine-et-Oise. The department of Seine-SAint-Denis was made of 24 municipalities from Seine and 16 municipalities from Seine-et-Oise.

Ivan Sache, 15 November 2009

Territorial mark of Seine-Saint-Denis


Territorial mark of Seine-Saint-Denis - Image by Olivier Touzeau, 18 May 2019

A territorial mark, “IN Seine-Saint-Denis” (website), was launched by the Departmental Council in 2016. The matching flag (photo) is white with the logo.

The logo ,designed by Gonzague Lacombe, was chosen during summer 2016.
The department of Seine-Saint-Denis wishes, with this mark, to show the vitality of its territory, through all the positive initiatives and all the evidences of its success.

Olivier Touzeau, 18 May 2019