This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Neuburg an der Donau County until 1972 (Schwaben District, Bavaria, Germany)

Landkreis Neuburg an der Donau

Last modified: 2012-03-31 by german editorial team
Keywords: landkreis neuburg an der donau | neuburg an der donau county | coat of arms: chief (bars wavy: blue) | coat of arms: chief (bars wavy: 2) | coat of arms (lion: yellow) | coat of arms (lion: demi) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Neuburg an der Donau County until 1972 (Schwaben District, Bavaria, Germany)] 5:2
by Stefan Schwoon
Flag and coat-of-arms adopted 21st June 1965, abolished 30th June 1972

See also:


Yellow-blue, adopted 21.06.1965. During the 1972 municipal reform, part of the county was integrated into Donau-Ries, but most of it —including the town of Neuburg— was merged with Schrobenhausen county (in Oberbayern district). The new county is called Neuburg-Schrobenhausen and is part of Oberbayern. Sources: Linder and Schmidt 2000, arms image from Stadler 1964-1972.

Stefan Schwoon, 27 August 2001

From Ralf Hartemink's International Civic Arms website:

The arms were granted on June 21, 1965. The arms show in the upper part the two main rivers in the district, the Donau [Danube] and the Lech. The lower part shows the lion of the Pfalz. From the 13th century onwards the Counts of the Pfalz acquired more and more areas in the district, which finally resulted in the formation of the Principality of the Pfalz-Neuburg.

Literature: Stadler 1964-1972.

Santiago Dotor, 31 July 2003