This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Cuba - Subdivisions

Last modified: 2022-10-15 by rob raeside
Keywords: cuba | cardenas |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Municipalities in FOTW:

See also:

The Provinces

We located the Coat of Arms of provinces:

Pinar del Rio: (a map of the westernmost part of the island, a sunrise, 3 trees, a shed and a cornfield).
La Habana:
Las Villas:

Jarig Bakker, 20 December 1999 and Rafael Corrales, 31 March 2000

Cuba is divided to 15 provinces and one special municipality as follows:
- Pinar del Rio
- Artemisa
- La Habana
- Ciudad de La Habana
- Matanzas
- Villa Clara
- Cienfuegos
- Sancti Spiritus
- Ciego de Avila
- Camagüey
- Las Tunas
- Holguin
- Granma
- Santiago de Cuba
- Guantanamo
- Isla de la Juventud (special municipality)
Dov Gutterman, 31 October 2004, updated 2022

Flag of the Best Province

excerpt of a photograph by Luis Carlos Palacios Leyva

The flag of the Best Province ("bandera de Mejor provincia) was awarded for year 2006 to Granma by Fidel Castro on 26 July 2006. The flag will be displayed and celebrated in the 13 municipalities of the province, starting with the capital city, Bayamo, on 10 October The flag is red with a thin white border and an emblem in the middle.
Source: "La Damjagua", 12 October 2006.
Ivan Sache, 15 October 2006