This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Cameroon Military Flags

Last modified: 2022-10-22 by bruce berry
Keywords: cameroon | air force | roundel |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

  See also:

Air Force Roundel of Cameroon

    Image by Dov Gutterman and Željko Heimer, 12 June 2004

L'Armee de l'Air du Cameroun was established in August 1960 and since then has used a roundel of yellow-red-green.

Cochrane & Elliott (1998) [cos98] report that until the flag change in 1972, national rudder stripes with one star was used.

Image by Dov Gutterman and Željko Heimer, 12 June 2004

Since 1972, Cameroon has used a fin flash with no stars. Wheeler (1986) [whe86] shows the same fin flash as being square.
Dov Gutterman, 12 June 2004

Armed Forces of Cameroom

The armed forces of Cameroon were reorganized in 2001.  The territorial military organization of Cameroon is prescribed by Decree No. 180 of 25 July 2001 : "On the reorganization of the territorial military command".

The national territory is divided into three Interservice Military Regions ("Regions Militaires InterArmées, RMIA"), prescribed in Article 3 of the Decree as follows:
- 1st Region (RMIA1), covering the Center, East and South provinces, with command in Yaoundé;
- 2nd Region (RMIA2), covering the Shore, North-West, West and South-West provinces, with command in Douala;
- 3rd Region (RMIA3), covering the Adamaoua, Far North and North provinces, with command in Garoua.

The Military Regions are subdivided into Land Military Sectors ("Secteurs Militaires Terrestres", SMT), matching the civil provinces, and prescribed in Article 26 of the Decree as follows:
- RIMA1: SMT1 (Center province, Yaoundé), SMT7 (South province, Ebolowa), and SMT8 (East province, Bertoua)
- RIMA2: SMT2 (Shore province, Douala), SMT6 (North-West province, Bamenda), SMT9 (West province, Bafoussam), and SMT10 (South-West province, Buea)
- RIMA3: SMT3 (North province, Garoua), SMT4 (Far North province, Maroua), and SMT5 (Adamaoua province, Ngaoundéré).


The organization of the National Gendarmerie is prescribed by the companion Decree No. 180 of 25 July 2001, "On the organization of the National Gendarmerie".

The national territory is divided into three Gendarmerie Regions ("Régions de Gendarmerie, RG"), prescribed in Article 59 of the Decree and territorially matching the RMIA.  The Gendarmerie Regions are subdivided into provincial Gendarmerie Legions ("Légions de Gendarmerie"), territorially matching the SMT [Source :\aires/article/decret-n-2001181-du-25-juillet-2001-portant-organisation-de-la-gen\darmerie-nationale.html].

On 25 July 2011, 1,000 new soldiers and 600 new gendarmes were presented with the flag and took the oath during a ceremony held on the grounds of the SMT5, Ngaoundéré, Adamaoua province. A photo attached
to the report by Mathurin Petsoko published in "Journal du Cameroun" of 25 July 2011, shows the Colour of the Adamaoua Gendarmerie Legion ("Légion de Gendarmerie de l'Adamaoua").  The flag is the national flag of Cameroon with a grenade representing the Gendarmerie added above the star and the writing "GENDARMERIE" / "LÉGION DE L'ADAMAOUA" in a slightly arched pattern, on the top and bottom of the flag, respectively. All the elements, including the star, are golden yellow, darker than the yellow stripe of the flag. [Source :]

The other Gendarmerie Legions must have a similar Colour, with appropriate writing.

Ivan Sache, 06 Aug 2011