This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Benguela Province (Angola)

Last modified: 2022-10-21 by bruce berry
Keywords: benguela | angola |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

  image sent by Valentin Poposki, 07 Sept 2020 See also:



Benguela Province in Angola is located in the centre of the country and lies on the Atlantic Ocean.  It's administrative centre and largest city is also called Benguela.

Benguela was pre-colonial Kingdom and its name is derived from the ruler of the Kingdom at the time of the first contact with Portuguese explorers. In 1615 the Kingdom became Portuguese protectorate (Reino de Benguela).  In 1617 it became Captaincy (Capitania de Benguela) and the Kingdom was extinguished by 1869. The Captaincy became a District (Distrito de Benguela) in 1779, and maintained that administrative status remain until 1975 when former the districts became provinces in the newly independent Angola.


The Province has an area of  39 827 km2 with about 2 480 000 inhabitants. It has 10 municipalities, each with the following communes:

Municipality of Baia Farta has 4 communes: Baia Farta, Calohanga, Dombe Grande, and Equimina.
Municipality of Balombo has 4 communes: Balombo, Chindumbo, Chingongo, and Maca Mombolo.
Municipality of Benguela has no communes.
Municipality of Bocoio has 5 communes: Bocoio, chila, Cubal do Lumbo, Monte Belo, and Passe.
Municipality of Caimbambo has 5 communes: Caiave, Caimbambo, Canhamela, Catengue, and Viangombe.
Municipality of Catumbela has 4 communes: Biopio, Catumbela, Gama, and Praia Bebe.
Municipality of Chongoroi has 3 communes: Bolonguera, Camuine, and Chongoroi.
Municipality of Cubal has 4 communes: Capupa, Cubal, Iambala, and Tumbulo.
Municipality of Ganda has 5 communes: Babaera, Casseque, Chicuma, Ebanga, and Ganda.
Municipality of Lobito has 4 communes: Canata, Canjala, Egito Praia, and Lobito.
Valentin Poposki,  07 Sept 2020

Benguela Provincial flag

There is no distinctive provincial flag for Benguela, but it uses a general government logo for official business.

image by Valentin Poposki, 07 Sept 2020

The Captaincy of Benguela from the end of XVII century had a coat of arms comprising a grey elephant on a yellow background.  This was also later used by the District of Benguela until the independence of Angola.
Valentin Poposki, 07 Sept 2020


Former Arms of municipalities in Benguela Province

Prior to independence, municipalities in Angola were one of three types:
City (Cidade)
Town (Vila)
Settlement (Povoacao).

Now these are communes.  Some of the former (colonial era) Arms of towns now in Bengo province are shown below.
Valentin Popski, 06 Sept 2020

City of Benguela (Cidade de Benguela)

image sent by Valentin Poposki, 07 Sept 2020


City of Lobito (Cidade do Lobito)

  image sent by Valentin Poposki, 07 Sept 2020