This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Lambayeque Region (Peru)

Last modified: 2012-04-15 by zoltán horváth
Keywords: lambayeque | castañeda (josé ibáñez) | coat of arms |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Lambayeque reg. flag
image by António Martins, 19 Apr 2006
See also:

Description of the flag

The flag of the Region of Lambayeque in Peru is presented on line. Designer of the flag is José Ibáñez Castañeda.
Valentin Poposki, 23 Feb 2006

Lambayeque is the name of a river (aka Chancay), of a region, of a province, of a district, of a town and of a pre-Hispanic culture (aka Sicán).
The Lambayeque Region (1,112,868 inhabitants in 2007; 14,231 sq. km), located in north-western, coastal Peru, was founded on 1 December 1874. It is made of the three Provinces of Chiclayo (20 districts), Ferreñafe (6 districts) and Lambayeque (12 districts); the regional capital is the town of Chiclayo (574,408 inhabitants in 2007).
The flag of the Lambayeque Region, designed by José Ibáñez Castañeda, is horizontally divided yellow-red - the colours of the Lambayeque culture - with the regional shield in the middle.
The shield of the Lambayeque Region is divided into three quarters:
- The upper quarter shows on a background argent a torch, surmonted by the Latin motto "LUCIS GLORIAM ET HONORIS", representing the modern honour and intellectual values;
- The lower left quarter shows five blue waves on a background argent, representing the resources of the sea and power;
- The lower right quarter shows an American carob tree (_Prosopis pallida_ (Humb. & Bonpl. ex Wild.) Kunth) proper on a background or, representing the natural resources.
The shield is hold by a masked and costumed character, maybe alluding to the "diablada" traditional dance.
Source: Regional website, symbols' page
Ivan Sache, 29 May 2010

Coat of arms

Lambayeque reg. CoA
image by António Martins, 19 Apr 2006