This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Arctic Council

Last modified: 2011-03-25 by zoltán horváth
Keywords: arctic council |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of Arctic Council ]
image by Zoltan Horvath, 25 February 2010

See also:

Arctic Council

The Arctic Council is a high-level intergovernmental forum which addresses issues faced by the Arctic governments and the indigenous people of the Arctic. The Ottawa Declaration of 1996 formally established the Arctic Council as a high level intergovernmental forum to provide a means for promoting cooperation, coordination and interaction among the Arctic States, with the involvement of the Arctic Indigenous communities and other Arctic inhabitants on common Arctic issues, in particular issues of sustainable development and environmental protection in the Arctic. Member States of the Arctic Council are Canada, Denmark (including Greenland and the Faroe Islands), Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russian Federation, Sweden, and the United States of America.

In addition to the Member States, the Arctic Council has the category of Permanent Participants. This category is open equally to Arctic organizations of indigenous peoples with a majority of Arctic Indigenous constituency representing a single Indigenous people resident in more than one Arctic State; or more than one Arctic Indigenous people resident in a single Arctic State.

Home page:

Zoltan Horvath, 25 February 2010

About the Flag

Its flag is white with its emblem, which is a arctic fox and the globe from North Pole representing the area where this organization operates.
Image of flag:

Indigenous Peoples at the Arctic Council also have flags, some of them can be seen at: Home page of Indigenous Peoples where their emblems are available:
Zoltan Horvath, 25 February 2010