This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Hungary - Subdivisions - The Capital and Cities (index)

Last modified: 2011-12-16 by zoltán horváth
Keywords: hungary | subdivisions |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:


The cities are not part of the counties, they are independent, but are counted at the Counties as per public administration. As a part of the administrative reform, system of the new cities (Like County by Right) was introduced on 1 December, 1990, when 16 county towns (Békéscsaba, Debrecen, Eger, Győr, Kaposvár, Kecskemét, Miskolc, Nyíregyháza, Pécs, Szeged, Székesfehérvár, Szolnok, Szombathely, Tatabánya, Veszprém, Zalaegerszeg) and 4 bigger towns (Dunaújváros, Hódmezővásárhely, Nagykanizsa, Sopron) became cities. Later, on 30 October, 1994, the remaining 2 county towns (Salgótarján and Szekszárd) were declared cities to finish this reform.
All the cities have been traditional Hungarian towns for a long time, except Dunaújváros and Tatabánya.
In 2004, Hungary has 251 towns, 22 cities (Like County by Right) and the capital (főváros).
Zoltán Turay, 28 December 2004

Currently, there are 328 cities and towns in Hungary, including 23 urban counties (cities have rights similar to counties) and the capital. Number of municipalities (large villages) has been reduced to 118, and number of villages is 2706. Total number of localities (settlements) of Hungary is 3152. (There are more entities, while 23 districts of Budapest has own administrative bodies, and all of them have flag and coat of arms, as well.).
More and detailed information can be found in Gazetteer of Hungary. Please note that this material based on situation as of 1st January of 2009. In this year 22 former municipalities became a town; a complete list is available at the end of this booklet.
Zoltan Horvath, 29 December 2009

The capital (Főváros) and Cities (Like County by Right - Megyei Jogú Város)

Note: The Cities are not part of the counties.

The Capital

The Cities:

Lists edited with the partcipation of István Molnár and Zoltán Turay