This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Honduras - Subdivisions

Last modified: 2012-01-06 by zoltán horváth
Keywords: honduras | bay islands | swan islands |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:


The CIA Factbook for 2000 lists the following:
Administrative divisions: 18 departments (departamentos, singular - departamento); Atlantida, Choluteca, Colon, Comayagua, Copan, Cortes, El Paraiso, Francisco Morazan, Gracias a Dios, Intibuca, Islas de la Bahia, La Paz, Lempira, Ocotepeque, Olancho, Santa Barbara, Valle, Yoro.
Phil Nelson, 28 August 2000

As far as I know some of the departments have flag and others don't. Intibuca doesn't have flag, neither arms, but after some years the arms of the Development Comitee of Intibuca is used by the department autorities as departamental arms. I believe that flags of the departments capitals are used as departamental flags when is needed, but not all the capitals have flag. Comayagua, Tegucigalpa (Francisco Morazan), Trujillo (Colon) and perhaps some others have flag. If I don't remember wrong a departamental flag was published in Estandarte.
Jaume Ollé, 29 August 2000


Municipalities Represented in FOTW