This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Auvergne (Region, France)

Last modified: 2010-11-12 by ivan sache
Keywords: auvergne | regional council | volcano (green) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors


Flag of the Regional Council of Auvergne - Image by Philippe-Pierre Darras, 18 January 1999

See also:

Administrative data

Departments: Allier, Cantal, Haute-Loire, Puy-de-Dôme
Bordering Regions: Bourgogne, Centre, Limousin, Midi-Pyrénées, Rhône-Alpes
Traditional provinces: Auvergne, Bourbonnais, Nivernais, Languedoc, Lyonnais

Area: 26,013 km2
Population (1995): 1,315,400 inhabitants
Regional prefecture: Clermont-Ferrand

Flag of the Regional Council

The flag is based on the Regional Council's logo, showing a green outlined stylized volcano with the name "AUVERGNE" written underneath in black letters.
Auvergne has a volcanic soil and boasts some 80 or so extinct volcanoes (called puys). The volcano symbolizes two concepts that may seem opposite and complementary at the same time: on the one hand, stability and immutability, on the other hand, energy. It also stands for strength and Auvergne originality within France.

Philippe-Pierre Darras, 18 January 1999