This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Aquitaine (Region, France)

Last modified: 2010-11-12 by ivan sache
Keywords: aquitaine | regional council | letter: a (white) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Reg. Council Aquitaine]

Flag of the Regional Council of Aquitaine - Image by Philippe-Pierre Darras, 26 January 1999

See also:

Administrative data

Departments: Dordogne, Gironde, Landes, Lot-et-Garonne, Pyrénées-Atlantiques
Bordering Regions: Limousin, Midi-Pyrénées, Poitou-Charentes
Bordering country: Spain
Traditional provinces: Guyenne-et-Gascogne, Béarn, Lower-Navarre

Area: 41,309 km2
Population (1995): 2,866,300 inhabitants
Regional prefecture: Bordeaux

Flag of the Regional Council

The letter "A" with five branches symbolizes the Region's five departments and its coastline. Blue stands for the ocean and green for the inland, the vast forests of Landes and Gironde, tourism and agriculture.

Philippe-Pierre Darras, 26 January 1999