This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Yonne (Department, France)

Last modified: 2010-11-12 by ivan sache
Keywords: yonne | bourgogne | letter: y |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of the General Council]         [Flag of General Council]

Flag of the General Council of Yonne, two versions - Images by Ivan Sache, 26 October 2009

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 89
Region: Bourgogne
Traditional provinces: Champagne, Bourgogne, Orléanais, Nivernais
Bordering departments: Aube, Côte-d'Or, Loiret, Nièvre, Seine-et-Marne

Area: 7,427 km2
Population (2005): 345,000 inhabitants

Préfecture: Auxerre
Sous-préfectures: Avallon, Sens
Subdivisions: 3 arrondissements, 42 cantons, 454 communes.

The department is named after river Yonne (293 km), tributary of the Seine.

Ivan Sache, 14 November 2009

Flag of the General Council

The flag of the General Council of Yonne, as observed by Pascal Vagnat in Auxerre in 2004, is white with the logo of the General Council.

The logo of the General Council of Yonne is made of a blue and green "Y" whose base is pierced by an horizontal orange stripe. The blue part of the "Y" represents river Yonne, for which the department is named, while the green part of the "Y" represents the forests of the department. "CONSEIL GÉNÉRAL / DE L'YONNE" is written below in black letters.

According to the PR Department of the General Council, there is a variant of the flag without the writing.

Pascal Vagnat & Ivan Sache, 29 October 2009