This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Puy-de-Dôme (Department, France)

Last modified: 2009-12-12 by ivan sache
Keywords: puy-de-dome | auvergne |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 63
Region: Auvergne
Traditional provinces: Auvergne, Bourbonnais
Bordering departments: Allier, Cantal, Corrèze, Creuse, Loire, Haute-Loire

Area: 7,970 km2
Population (2006): 623,463 inhabitants

Préfecture: Clermont-Ferrand
Sous-préfectures: Ambert, Issoire, Riom, Thiers
Subdivisions: 5 arrondissements, 61 cantons, 470 communes.

The department is named after the ancient volcano Puy-de-Dôme (1,465 m asl).
When created in 1790, the department should have been called "Mont-Dore", but the proposal was rejected. The Representative Jean-François Gaultier de Blauzat (1739-1815) claimed that "Mont-Dore" could be read "Mont-d'Or" (Gold Mountain) and sound too wealthy.

Ivan Sache, 14 November 2009